What is the state minimum wage? 

  • $14.00/hour 

What do I need to know about state withholding tax?

  • All income earned in Rhode Island by residents and non-residents is subject to Rhode Island withholding
  • Income earned out of state by residents of Rhode Island, is subject to Rhode Island withholding
  • New employers are required to register for a withholding account.  Click here to register online.

What forms do employees need to set up state withholding?

  • RI W-4 – State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate 

What do I need to know about unemployment tax?

  • 2024 Taxable Wage Base – $31,800
  • 2024 New Employer UI Rate – 1.00%
  • With few exceptions, new employers are required to register for an unemployment tax account. Click here to register.

How do I report new hires to the state?

  • Report new hires online
  • Mail or Fax the form to:
  • Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory
    P.O. Box 485
    Norwell MA 02061
  • Fax: (888) 430-6907
  • Phone: (888) 870-6461

How do I submit Child Support payments?

  • Remit payments online
  • Rhode Island Family Court
    c/o RI Child Support Payment Service Unit
    P.O. Box 5073
    Hartford, Connecticut 06102-5073
  • Fax: Fax: (401) 458-4465
  • Phone: (401) 458-4400

Additional Resources:

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training Rhode Island – Business Workforce Center
Rhode Island Division of Taxation State of Rhode Island General Laws
Workers’ Compensation – Information for Employers

Get A Quote For Rhode Island Payroll Services

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.