What is the state minimum wage? 

  • $7.25/hour (Louisiana does not have a state-mandated minimum wage, therefore it follows the Federal minimum wage standard)

What do I need to know about state withholding tax?

  • All income earned within the state of Louisiana by Louisiana residents and non-residents is subject to Louisiana withholding tax.
  • Louisiana residents are subject to Louisiana income tax for income earned in other states if those states do not have state income tax.
  • New employers are required to register for a withholding account. Click here to register online.

What forms do employees need to set up state withholding?

  • Form L-1 – Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate

What do I need to know about unemployment tax?

  • 2024 Taxable Wage Base – $7,700
  • 2024 New Employer UI Rate – Industry Rated
  • With few exceptions, new employers are required to register for an unemployment tax account. Click here to register.

How do I report new hires to the state?

  • Report new hires online
  • Mail or fax your non-electronic new hire form to:
  • Louisiana Directory of New Hires
    PO Box 142513
    Austin, TX 78714-2513
  • Fax: (888) 223-1462
  • Phone: (888) 223-1461

How do I submit Child Support payments?

  • Register and remit payments online
  • Mail payments to:
    Department of Children & Family Services
    Centralized Collection Unit
    P.O. Box 260222
    Baton Rouge, LA 70826-0222
  • Phone: (888) 524-3578
  • Email: [email protected]

Additional Resources:

Louisiana Department of Labor Louisiana Department of Revenue
Louisiana Unemployment Insurance – Tax Guide for Employers Louisiana WorkForce Development
Louisiana Workers’ Compensation – Employers Louisiana State Laws
Louisiana Child Support – Employer Resource Guide Louisiana New Hire Brochure

Get A Quote For Louisiana Payroll Services

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.